The Shins are an American indie rock band founded and fronted by vocalist and multi-instrumentalist, James Mercer. The Shins were formed in Albuquerque, New Mexico, but are now based in Portland, Oregon.

The Shins began in 1996 as a side project for singer/songwriter James Mercer, whose primary band was Flake Music in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Mercer formed Flake Music in 1992 with Neal Langford on guitar, Phil Higgs and then Marty Crandall on bass, and Jesse Sandoval on drums. During the next 5 years Flake Music released several singles, a full-length album, and began touring largely due to the help of other bands like Modest Mouse.

In 1996, Mercer began writing what would eventually become The Shins’ first record. Flake Music came to an end a year later, leaving Mercer with an opportunity to record Nature Bears A Vacuum a 7" EP released by Omnibus Records. For their earliest shows, The Shins performed as a duo with Mercer recruiting Sandoval to play drums. Nature Bears A Vacuum was released with no expectations of expanding the band’s following beyond Albuquerque. However, the single generated enough attention that Mercer felt it necessary to assemble a full band. Crandall was brought into the fold on keyboards, and Dave Hernandez was given bass duties.

At a San Francisco performance with Modest Mouse in 2000, Sub Pop’s Jonathan Poneman asked The Shins to contribute a single to the label’s Single of the Month Club, which eventually became an offer to release The Shins’ 2001 single, “New Slang”, and their debut album, Oh, Inverted World. The group spent the rest of the year touring. The release of singles such as “Know Your Onion!” and “The Past and Pending” kept The Shins’ success going into 2002, cementing Oh, Inverted World as one of the definitive indie-rock albums of the early ‘00s and The Shins as one of the genre’s leading younger bands.

The band relocated from Albuquerque to Portland, OR in 2001 and began tracking new material in Mercer’s basement that summer. In an effort to balance the home-recording method used on Oh, Inverted World with a studio finish, producer Phil Ek (Built To Spill, Modest Mouse) was brought in to mix and produce the album. Chutes Too Narrow was released by Sub Pop in the fall of 2003 to much fanfare in indie music circles, featuring even more multi-layered lyrics, as well as a musical approach that explored new genres, song structures, and levels of production fidelity
The band’s third album, Wincing the Night Away, was recorded in Portland during 2006 by a largely solo Mercer, but with the production assistance of Joe Chiccarelli. It was released on January 23, 2007 and debuted at number 2 on the Billboard 200 album chart with 118,000 copies sold in its first week, the highest sales week and chart position an album released solely on Sub Pop has ever achieved. It was nominated for a 2008 Grammy award in the category of Best Alternative Music Album.

On June 20, 2008, the band announced that their three record Sub Pop contract had been fulfilled and that the next Shins’ record would be released on James Mercer’s own label, Aural Apothecary.

On August 1, 2011 Pitchfork reported that The Shins would be releasing an album in 2012 on Mercer’s Aural Apothecary Label, via Columbia Records. The Shins also announced additional tour dates for their North American tour. The new band backing Mercer on this tour include singer/songwriter Richard Swift, Modest Mouse drummer Joe Plummer, Yuuki Matthews of Crystal Skulls and Jessica Dobson.

On December 14th, they announced on their website that their upcoming album would be titled Port of Morrow and would be released March 2012. They revealed the cover art for the album as well, designed by Jacob Escobedo. They also released their first track form the new album “Simple Song” on January 9th.

Last updated about 1 year ago by Ticketfly Rocks ticketfly (edit)



Pulli Haley Carnefox Heeesh Nicholas Becker Wendi Walker
Tom Chinick Tim Weilert katie reichard seth boid Zach Engel
Nathan Rist Sam Van Wetter Bailey Carlson Mike Warren nala zequ
Nick Fletcher heidi toppel Eryc Eyl Mhyk Monroe Felicia Lepetri
Joey McAllister Brian Steven Engel Micah Max Chelsea Twining
Kelsey Smith lucas Inna Palma Brandon Fichera Lauren McEvoy
miranda cowling jen Matthew Cable Benjamin Nutt Jordan
rice e joshua dickinson Ty Hyten Sam Knights John Oakes
Amy Miller Ethan Hill Brady Kimball Peter Watts
Lyndsay Troyer Kim Ziereis Bo Bickerstaff Colin Stynes Nichole Covington
Shane Garman Chad Fuller Eoin O Connor Nick Taylor BA Kessel
Julie Beckenheimowitz Sarah Rockford ben bucholz Aaron Mills Brian Arnone
d b Bryce Morgan Jacob Rios Stephanie Simons Joshua Byers
kathy evans Jon Martin Justin Smith Katie Smith Paul Tanger
Shane Garman sheila Sheridan Furrer Tim Tucker Patrick Walsh
Aimee Giese Paul Gigante jeremy neubauer Benjamin Weilert Jess Kessler
Kevin Pease b ZWACK Brika Longo Mark Pinkerton Herman Gauche
Ryan Mettetal rebecca jones